Archives

Murder, She Encountered-Historical Mystery Review

Let’s head to the World’s Fair in 1939 where Biz Adams, girl reporter is hot on the case. Peg Cochran does a great job helping us all escape to another time, although there do seem to be some people getting killed!

My Review:

Biz Adams, also known as Elizabeth, is working as a photographic journalist along with veteran reporter Ralph Kaminsky as they cover the World’s Fair in 1939. Nylon stockings are just coming into use, and a young woman is found dead with one around her neck. I enjoyed the many characters that worked at various booths in the World’s Fair. It set us up with plenty of suspects. There was also a sweet story between Biz and Kaminsky, her work partner, and then a romance with a detective who was not from her social set. Thoroughly enjoyable historical mystery.

A gutsy Manhattan socialite encounters murder and corruption at the World’s Fair in this captivating historical cozy mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Rhys Bowen.

New York City, 1939. A rising star at the Daily Trumpet, Elizabeth “Biz” Adams has been sent to the World’s Fair—billed as the “World of Tomorrow,” a look toward a brighter future even as the drumbeats of war grow louder—to cover a robbery. What she stumbles upon instead is a dead woman, dumped into the Aquacade’s pool with a nylon stocking wrapped around her neck.

Elizabeth snaps a photo as the police arrest Joey Dorman, a gentle young hot dog vendor who made no secret of his obsession with the murder victim. Even though she’s thrilled that her photo makes the front page, the fear and confusion evident on Joey’s face are haunting. So Elizabeth vows to prove his innocence—or his guilt—with her partner at the Daily Trumpet, Ralph Kaminsky. Meanwhile, her romance with Detective Sal Marino is heating up, and Elizabeth is more determined than ever to follow her heart.

But when Kaminsky’s efforts to expose the real killer land him in the hospital, Elizabeth is forced to continue the investigation on her own. And as she tries to narrow down the long list of suspects, she discovers a dark secret running through the Fair—a secret some would kill to protect.

Look for all of Peg Cochran’s delightful mysteries featuring Elizabeth Adams, which can be read together or separately:
MURDER, SHE REPORTED
MURDER, SHE UNCOVERED
MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED