Tag Archive | Review

Book Review: A Study in Murder

So, you dump your fiancĂ©. What’s the worst that could happen? Lady Amy Lovell could answer that one for you! Today we have a historical mystery that centers around a mystery book club. I really enjoyed it, so scroll down and read my review!

A mystery author is charged with murder–and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages–in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton’s new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams.

Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement.

Two evenings later, as Lady Amy awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancĂ© makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty–until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest.

Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation–and stir up a hornet’s nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy.

Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?

My Review

Lady Amy, who is secretly a successful mystery writer loves to attend her weekly book group and talk about the latest mysteries with her friend Lord William. Amy has been set up in an engagement with Mr. Ronald St. Vincent but after she ends the engagement they find him dead in her library. She then has to use her mystery-writing skills to find St. Vincent’s murderer before the police decide it was her. I enjoyed this Victorian mystery and the team of Lady Amy and Lord William. The plot moved along and the characters were interesting and propelled the story forward. Lady Amy had plenty of obstacles as she attempted to be a moving force in a society that does not yet value women’s involvement in such matters. This is a fun historical mystery with a nice touch of romance. I obtained this book from Net Galley and have left an honest review.